The Roundup

WP_20141229_002

Home on dry land

It’s been a bit of a year, it’s fair to say.  At the beginning of it, I’d made up my mind what to do.  By the end, I was doing it.  And so much more besides.

I’m not going to go over every event here – you can read my other posts if you want to.  All I’ll say is that it’s been an amazing journey, and it’s not over yet.

What I do want to make a thing of is my beautiful little dog Millie – I’ve no idea how old she is, or what’s happened in her life but that’s enough to make it clear that whatever it was, it probably wasn’t good.  Two years ago, I adopted her: a quiet little dog who took months to gain the confidence to go for a decent walk away from the immedite vicinity of the house, because I guess she was scared that she wouldn’t get back again.  Still, she didn’t put a paw wrong and adapted to my life as if we’d always been together.  She’s definitely a watcher and a thinker, who tries her very best to be the perfect companion.  Two years on, she’s a different dog, one full of confidence and who will go anywhere provided it’s with me.  I’m most definitely her human, and she’s my dog!   Of course, this year life changed again for her, and still she took it all in her stride, and I have to say that I’m not sure how I would have coped if I hadn’t had her to think about and come home to at the end of every day.

So, Happy New Year to everyone, and especially to my little four-pawed friend, Millie.

The world’s best dog.

Leave a Reply

