The Problem With Guessing K-Means

I’ve been grappling with the problem of how to find out what a group of professionals blog about. That seems simple enough on the face of it, but when there are over 9,000 blogs in a sample set of data, it’s not so easy. I can’t read every one, and even if I could, can you imagine how long it might take me to group them into topics?

Enter computer science in the form of algorithms.

I’ll gloss over the hours…. days…. weeks of researching how the various alternatives work, and why algorithm A is better than algorithm B for my type of data. Turns out k-means is the one I need.

Put very simply, each blog post (document) is made up of words. Each word is used x amount of times, both in the document and in the entire collection of documents (corpus). An adjustment must be made for the overall length of the document (a word used ten times in a document of 100 words doesn’t have the same significance as the same word used ten times in document of 1000 words), but once this has been done it’s possible to give each document an overall ‘score’, which is converted to a position (or vector) within the corpus.

It helps to think of the position as a ‘vector’ in a space with an infinite number of dimensions, even if you can’t visualise it, which I can’t. But, having done this, it’s then possible to k-means to randomly pick a number of starting vectors (the number being picked in advance) and it will proceed to find all of the documents closest to it until it finds the distance becomes too great or it begins to overlap with a neighbouring group, in which case it starts again somewhere else. The algorithm does this over and again until it completes the task successfully as it can (or it’s told to do it for a maximum number of tries, or iterations) and then it tells you how many documents it’s put in each cluster.

In theory, the algorithm should produce the same number of clusters every time you run it, although that doesn’t always happen as I found with my data. The other thing is, without grouping the set manually, there’s no way of telling what the actual number of k should be, which rather defeats the point of the algorithm…. except when you’re dealing with large data sets, you’ve got no choice.

Of course, you CAN just keep clustering, adding 1 to your chosen number for k until you think you’ve got results you’re happy with. I started doing that, beginning with 10 and working up to 15, by which time I was totally bored and considering the possibility that my actual optimum number of clusters might we over 100…. Every time I ran the algorithm, the number of posts in each cluster changed, although two were stable. That seemed to be telling me that I was a long way from finding the optimum number.

Enter another load of algorithms that can help you estimate the optimum number for k. They aren’t a magic bullet – they can only help with an estimation, and each one goes about the process in a different way. I chose the one I did because a) I found the code in a very recent book written by a data scientist, and b) he gave an example of how to write the code AND IT WORKED.

Guess how many clusters it estimated I had? Go on, guess….. seven hundred and sixty. Of course I now have to go back and evaluate the results, but still. Seven hundred and sixty.

Good job I stopped at 15.

Leave a Reply

